(03) 9349 7800

What We Offer

Celebrating the best of country Victorian health care

Media Release – 16 October 2020

Celebrating the best of country Victorian health care

The Rural Workforce Agency Victoria congratulates all the winners of the 2020 Victorian Rural Health Awards.

Since 2005, RWAV with the support of the Victorian Government Department of Health and Human Services has proudly hosted the awards to recognise the significant role of health professionals contributing to the well-being of our Victorian rural communities.

The awards also acknowledge the lifetime of dedication from health professionals who have contributed 35+ years of service to rural communities. Among the nominees, the awards celebrated rural general practitioners, medical specialists, nurses, midwives, and allied health professionals working across rural Victoria.

2020 Victorian Rural Health Awards Winners

  • Outstanding Contribution by a Rural GP: Dr Jeffrey Robinson – Mount Beauty Medical Centre
  • Outstanding Contribution by a Rural GP-VMO: Dr Peter Keppel – Kerang District Health
  • Outstanding Contribution by a Rural Specialist: Mr Peter Mortensen – GV Health, Shepparton Private & Shepparton Urology Rooms
  • Outstanding Contribution by a Rural Nurse/Midwife: Vicki Broad – Robinvale District Health Services
  • Outstanding Contribution by a Rural Allied Health Professional: Megan Green – Colac Area Health
  • Rising Star Award: Harley Hayes – Everyday Independence Bendigo
  • Closing the Gap Award: Dr Edmund Poliness – Wathaurong Aboriginal Co-operative
  • People’s Choice Award: Dr Lesley Cadzow

Length of Service Award Winners

  • Dr John Beaumont β€“ Aireys Inlet Medical Centre
  • Dr John Bergin β€“ Inglis Medical Centre, Sale
  • Dr Santino Bronchinetti β€“ Bacchus Marsh Medical Centre
  • Dr David Cruickshanks β€“ UFS Medical – Sturt Street, Ballarat
  • Dr Frank Del Rio β€“ Surf Coast Medical Centre, Torquay
  • Dr Dale Ford β€“ Hamilton Medical Group
  • Dr Kulbir Gill β€“ Gisborne Medical Centre
  • Dr Suzanne Harrison β€“ Echuca Moama Family Medical Practice
  • Dr Deborah Henty β€“ Ballarat Group Practice – Victoria Street
  • Dr William Howson β€“ Wonthaggi Medical Group
  • Dr Neil Jackson β€“ Civic Medical, Terang
  • Dr Peter Keppel β€“ Yarrawonga Denis Medical Group
  • Dr Patrick Kinsella β€“ Gippsland Lakes Complete Health, Lakes Entrance
  • Dr Soo Lim β€“ Ely Street Clinic, Wangaratta
  • Dr Paul Malcher β€“ Portarlington Medical Centre
  • Dr Jennifer Murray β€“ Ovens Medical Group, Wangaratta 
  • Dr Iain Nicolson β€“ Sale Medical Centre
  • Dr Terence Norwood β€“ Newborough Health
  • Dr Alan Randell β€“ Beechworth Surgery
  • Dr Barry Reid β€“ Ocean Grove Medical Clinic
  • Dr David Schepisi β€“ Sandhurst Medical Practice, Bendigo
  • Dr Simon Sneyd β€“ Wyndham House Clinic, Shepparton
  • Dr Peter Trigg β€“ Yarra Valley Clinic, Healesville
  • Dr William Twycross β€“ Central General Practice, Mansfield
  • Dr John Urie β€“ Bairnsdale Medical Group

For comment or more information please contact:

Alina Bolton, RWAV Marketing & Communications Co-ordinator on communications@rwav.com.au or (03) 9349 7800.

The Latest Podcast

Inspire career choices and support the next generation of rural GPs. Become a DR JuMP mentorHere!
Send this to a friend