(03) 9349 7800

What We Offer

2016 VRHA Awards

Remarkable Rural Healthcare Workers

The many achievements of Victoria’s rural health professionals will be celebrated at the Victorian Rural Health Awards this March in Sale.

Over 30 men and women will take centre stage to be formally recognised for their outstanding contributions to their communities.

The awards, hosted by RWAV since 2005, acknowledge doctors, medical specialists, Aboriginal health workers, general practices, nurses, allied health workers, practice managers, GP locums and medical students making a difference across rural Victoria.

“These healthcare workers make a significant contribution to the well-being of rural Victorians,” said RWAV Board Chair, Dr Sue Harrison.

Doctors who have dedicated more than 35 years of service to rural healthcare will also be honoured.

“The people nominated for these awards are the face of primary healthcare in Victoria and we want to celebrate their hard work and dedication,” said Dr Harrison. “The awards are also a way for communities to show their gratitude.”

Every year nominations are put forward by members of the public, community organisations and local healthcare providers and are assessed by a panel of representatives from the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners and Allied Health Professionals Australia.

The awards will be held in Sale, Friday 4 March, 6-8pm at the Sale Turf Club.

Length of Service Award  

Dr David Ball – Mooroopna
Dr Nicholas Barker – Red Cliffs
Dr Ian Barratt – Warrnambool
Dr Daniel Silver – Castlemaine
Dr Graham Stephens – Healesville
Dr David Tynan – Maryborough

Rural Doctor Award – Outstanding Contribution 

Dr Chris Perry – Leongatha
Dr Hoe Sin Ooi – Golden Square
Dr Donald Liu – Warracknabeal
Dr Mehdi Sanati Pour – Mildura
Dr Bala Pillai – Echuca
Dr Peter Nesbitt – Echuca

Rural Doctor Award – New Rural Doctor

Dr Alison Wilde – Toora

Medical Specialist Award

Dr Safwat Bassili  – Balwyn

Aboriginal Health Award

Garry Giles – Echuca
Margaret Murray – Wodonga
Johanna Nesbitt – Echuca

Rural General Practice Award

Leongatha Healthcare
Mount Beauty Medical Centre
Echuca Moama Family Medical Practice

Rural Nursing Award

Robyn Butler – Leongatha

Rural Allied Health Professional Award

Kay Knight – Echuca

Practice Manager Award

Judy Robb – Leongatha

GP Locum Award

Dr Siobhan Reddel

Medical Student Award

Samantha Walker – Deakin University


The Latest Podcast

Inspire career choices and support the next generation of rural GPs. Become a DR JuMP mentorHere!
Send this to a friend